Saarbrücken: Difference between revisions

Jump to navigation Jump to search
2,265 bytes added ,  05:56, 15 May 2019
no edit summary
No edit summary
No edit summary
Line 13: Line 13:


===Origin/meaning===
===Origin/meaning===
The arms were granted in 1909 after the merger of the three cities to new Saarbrücken.  
The current arms were granted on September 21, 1976.  


The lion is the lion of Nassau-Saarbrücken, the county of which the city was the capital. The origin of the bordure I don't know. The rose is the old symbol for St. Johann and, combined with the lion, was used on the common seals of Saarbrücken and St. Johann since 1462. The miners tools were taken from the arms of Malstatt-Burbach.
The oldest known seal of the cities of Saarbrücken and Sankt Johann was granted by Count Johan III of Nassau-Saarbrücken on March 6, 1462. This seal showed a shield with in the upper half the arms of the Counts of Saarbrücken-Commercy (a silver lion with four silver crosses) and ion the lower half a rose for Sankt Johann.


Previously the city used large arms, which showed the Prussian eagle behind the shield, and holding the Royal sceptre an orb (regalia) in his claws.
The seal was in use until the end of the 18th century (1793), restored in 1817 and used until 1856.
 
In 1856 the two cities separated and Saarbrücken used a shield with only the lion in a field with small crosses, the the arms of the Counts of Saarbrücken-Commercy.
 
On November 20, 1876, the city received two new arms from Emperor Wilhelm I. The arms were the arms as used from 1859, but now with a bordure in the colours of Prussia (black and silver) as small arms, and as large arms the same arms (without the bordure) placed in a shield with the Prussian eagle. These arms were used until 1909. The number of crosses was now reduced to four, as in the old seal.


{|align="center"
{|align="center"
|align="center"|[[File:saarbruckenz1.jpg|center|Seal of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>Seal from around 1900
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken2.jpg|center|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The small arms as shown around 1900
|align="center"|[[File:saarbruckenz2.jpg|center|Seal of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>Seal from around 1920
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken3.jpg|center|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>  
|-
|-
|align="center"|[[File:saarbruckenz2.jpg|center|Seal of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The large arms on a seal from around 1900
|}
An interesting combination of the large arms with another Prussian bordure was shown in an album from +/- 1910, even though the arms had been changed in 1909.
{|align="center"
|align="center"|[[File:231b.wsa.jpg|center|Wappen von {{PAGENAME}}]]  <br/>The large arms in the [[Wappen-Sammlung Series 2 Cities and regions|Wappen-Sammlung]] (+/- 1910)
|}
On April 1, 1909 new arms were granted after the merger of the three cities (Saarbrücken, Sankt Johann and Malstatt-Burbach) to new Saarbrücken. These arms show in the upper half the rose of Sankt Johann and the miner's tools from Malstatt-Burbach. The lion of Saarbrücken-Comemrcy is shown in the base. The whole surrounded by the Prussian bordure. Similarly as to the previous arms, the whole could also be placed on a shield with the Prussian eagle as large arms (but without the bordure). Both shields could be displayed with a mural crown.
{|align="center"
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken1.jpg|center|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The large arms as granted in 1909
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken1.jpg|center|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The large arms as granted in 1909
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken.hagd.jpg|center|Wappen von {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The arms by [[Otto Hupp|Hupp]] in the [[Kaffee Hag albums]] +/- 1925 
|align="center"|[[File:saarbruckenz1.jpg|center|Seal of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>Seal with the small arms from around 1920
|-
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken.him.jpg|center|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The arms on a 1960s matchox label
|align="center"|[[File:3278.aba.jpg|center|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The arms in the [[Abadie]] albums
|-
|-
|align="center"|[[File:de-Saarbrucken.jpg|center|350 px|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The arms on a 1959 cover
|align="center"|[[File:3278.aba.jpg|center|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The large arms in the [[Abadie]] albums (1930s)
|
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken.aur.jpg|center|Wappen von {{PAGENAME}}]]  <br/>The large arms in a 1936 [[Staats-Wappen und Flaggen (Unter dem Olympia-Banner)|album]] 
|}
|}


The previous arms of the city showed only the lion in the bordure as can be seen from the images below from around 1900.
 
After the First World War the arms were often shown without the Prussian bordure and/or eagle, see below, but the arms were officially valid until 1976.


{|align="center"
{|align="center"
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken2.jpg|center]] <br/>
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken.hagd.jpg|center|Wappen von {{PAGENAME}}]]  <br/>The arms by [[Otto Hupp|Hupp]] in the [[Kaffee Hag albums]] +/- 1925 
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken3.jpg|center]] <br/>  
|align="center"|[[File:saarbrucken.him.jpg|center|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The arms on a 1960s matchox label
|-
|align="center"|[[File:de-Saarbrucken.jpg|center|350 px|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The large arms on a 1959 cover
|align="center"|[[File:Saarbrucken.depc.jpg|center|350 px|Arms of {{PAGENAME}}]] <br/>The arms on a 1970s (?) postcard
|}
|}
After the municipal reforms in 1974 the city needed either to design new arms, or have the old arms officially regranted. The council chose for the latter and applied again for the small and large arms, including the mural crown. After some discussion, only the small arms were officially granted, without the mural crown. These arms have been in use since.


{{media}}
{{media}}
Line 47: Line 65:
[[File:Saarland.jpg|50 px]][[Category:Saarland]]
[[File:Saarland.jpg|50 px]][[Category:Saarland]]
[[Category:Saarbrücken]]
[[Category:Saarbrücken]]
[[Category:Granted 1876]]
[[Category:Granted 1909]]
[[Category:Granted 1909]]
[[Category:Granted 1976]]
approved, Bureaucrats, Interface administrators, Members who can see the literature depository, Administrators, uploader
3,705,579

edits

Navigation menu