Richmond (Yorkshire)
Country :
Incorporated into:
Status:
|
English |
Arms :Gules an Orle Argent over all a Bend Ermine. |
Origin/meaning
The arms were recorded on 21st August 1665, but without colours. Confirmed with tinctures and crest granted 4th August 1959, to the Borough of Richmond. Transferred to the Town Council by Order made 16th April 1975.
The orle is possibly derived from the arms of Baliol of Barnard Castle. The ermine is from the arms of the Counts and Dukes of Brittany, who in the twelfth century held the Honour of Richmond.
The crest is derived from that previously used unofficially of a crowned red rose, this seems to have been derived from an embellishment on the seal on which the above arms were placed. The rose is now white for Yorkshire.
The arms as used on a JaJa postcard +/- 1905 |
Literature: Image and information from here
United Kingdom heraldry portal
This page is part of the United Kingdom heraldry portal |
Heraldry of the World |
Civic heraldry:
|
Other heraldry: |
Contact and Support
Partners:
Your logo here ?
Contact us
© 1995-2025, Heraldry of the World, Ralf Hartemink
Index of the site